My Laptop Broke

again. The fourth time actually. I am so pissed off, probably I shouldn’t be posting anything until I calm down.

Feb 22 10:42:25 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: 3
Feb 22 12:28:01 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: 3
Feb 22 13:02:50 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: 3
Feb 22 13:17:27 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: 3
Feb 22 19:06:43 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: 3
Feb 22 20:02:14 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: 3

[Added 2007-03-03] My laptop restarted all by itself (instantaneously, like power was out) 3 times in 3 days, then for 5 days it worked without any problems. Don’t really know what to think, if this does not happen again it will be quite hard to convince the apple service guys that this is a real problem. Anyway, now there are even more problems with DVDs, and also the older unfixed ones related to sleep mode.

9 Responses to My Laptop Broke

  1. Moritz says:

    Wow, you’re having the hell of a Mac experience there. Guess, it doesn’t help if I say that my powerbook, which has been under heavy usuage since January 2003 and fell off a table several times, never had any defect whatsoever.

    Here’s my expert advice: Don’t give your notebook gay male names. This is just the revolt you deserve for that!

  2. irio says:

    I guess you can ask for refund.
    Or for a new one.
    I mean it.

    It might be that the model was new and unstable.

    *hugs*

    Ah if you need a laptop for the Monday’s presentation do not hesitate to ask me…

  3. Cherie says:

    Ever since I rebuilt my machine over the summer, it spontaneously reboots itself a few times a week. Sometimes my laptop has a bad day and restarts itself twice in one day. I checked dmesg and it says that the previous shutdown cause was “3.” I’m still trying to figure out what that means. –;;

  4. hritcu says:

    For me it meant: Get a new laptop! :)

  5. g says:

    localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: 3
    is either RAM, video, or MLB. Time to take it in.
    Run AHT overnight looped, it may find something with the RAM…

  6. nick says:

    I know this was posted last year, but I’m having the same issue.. twice now in 2 days. Grep shows the same errors you got posted here. What ever happened with this? Genius bar was useless…

  7. hritcu says:

    Sorry, but I already lost track of all these problems.

  8. Richard says:

    You should check out this site http://www.MyLaptopBroke.com

    My Laptop Broke pays you for your broken and unwanted laptops.

  9. Kyle says:

    Anyone looking to get cash for their broken laptops should check out http://www.mylaptopbroke.com !!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 392 other followers

