Enrique in Pain Again

Enrique (my MacBook) is experiencing random shutdowns, like many others do, and it’s not the first time he is sick. It happened yesterday and today morning a couple of times. I think it’s because he doesn’t like to work so much as I do, or he just hates mornings. If he still keeps misbehaving like this I’m going to take him back to the Apple Store while I’m in vacation so that they give him a lesson. However, until then we have a deadline for the Google SOC and I really need it’s help on this.

Aug 26 09:36:11 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: -72
Aug 26 09:38:25 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: -72
Aug 27 08:51:37 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: -72
Aug 27 09:15:17 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: 0
Aug 27 09:31:15 localhost kernel[0]: Previous Shutdown Cause: -72

Tried the standard procedures involving holding 4 or more keys at start-up, and also run the Apple hardware test. No success … it even shut down during the test once.

[Added 2006-08-27] It looks like it’s a lot more serious then I first thought. This morning it shut down around 10 times and there is more. The connection to my battery (or maybe the battery itself) is just … running with the squirrels.

[Added 2006-09-01] Before leaving from Saarbrucken I left Enrique for repairs. The Apple gurus there were not surprised at all of the problems I was experiencing, they told me they are quite common these days – the most recent ones being caused by a sensor board.

[Added 2006-09-14] Called the apple repair shop on Monday and they told me they are waiting for some component to arrive so I have to wait one more week for the repair.

[Added 2006-09-15] Called the apple repair shop again today and they told me that the “logic board” they are waiting for will be here only on the 29th of September. I’m growing tiered of waiting.

[Added 2006-10-02] Called the apple repair shop again today and they told me that the “main-board” they are waiting is not there yet, that Apple has >3000 such problems in Europe and that I have priority now … whatever that means. I have grown tiered of waiting.

[Added 2006-10-09] Called the apple repair shop this morning again. They told me that they already received a connector and the main-board is also on its way. Shouldn’t take more than one week now, but Mr. Fischer (I already know the names of almost all guys there) didn’t want to make any promises. Who would believe their promises anyway.

4 Responses to Enrique in Pain Again

  1. […] After a lot of waiting my MacBook finally got repaired. New main-logic-board, new top-case, new battery and it seems like working just fine. Was it worth waiting almost 45 days of waiting? Probably not, but at least I read a lot for my research during this time. And ont more thing, just noticed that my keyboard is now in German. Crap! […]

  2. Hi,

    Thanks for posting your story. glad it was a haapy ending. I’m having same frequent shut down problems on a G5 desktop but Shutdown cause is given as -122. Do you have any idea how I can find out what this means? do you think its a similar problem to Enrique’s?

    hope you can help
    Thanks
    Philippe

  3. hritcu says:

    @Philippe: Don’t think your problem is related. For me my motherboard was broken, and the motherboards for Intel processors are very much different then the ones for PowerPC ones. I think that searching the Apple forums is a good way to start, and especially if you still have Apple Care or the limited warranty you should ask Apple for support.

  4. […] Laptop Broke … again. The fourth time actually. I am so pissed off, probably I shouldn’t be posting anything until […]

Leave a Reply

