The Updated MacBook Pro

MacBook Pro

Apple just released updated versions of the MacBook Pro, featuring the Merlom (Intel Core Duo 2) 64-bit processor, more RAM, larger hard drive and FireWire 800 on all models. All this for the same price as before. For the model I would like (the cheapest) the price is 1.793 euros with the educational discount (but without AppleCare).


The configuration goes like this:

  • 2,16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
  • 15” TFT display, 1440 x 900
  • 1 GB DDR2 RAM
  • 120 GB Hard Drive, 5400 RPM
  • 6x SuperDrive DVD-RW (Double Layer)
  • ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 with 128 MB SDRAM
  • One FireWire 800 port at up to 800 Mbps

What I did not decide at the moment is whether to buy this now, or in the spring when Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard is released. The third option would be to keep the MacBook (affectionally called Enrique) and buy an extra MacPro workstation. Last option would be to wait for a 12” model, should they ever decide to build one. Not a very easy choice 🙂

4 Responses to The Updated MacBook Pro

  1. ylloh says:

    A while ago, I decided to buy a MacBook (notPro) next spring, when the new OS is included. Why would one really _need_ the Pro version?

  2. hritcu says:

    I don’t really need any of the features of the Pro version, I like my MacBook very much, especially the form factor. The only BIG problem I had was stability. While only few MacBook Pros got broken, MacBooks had lots of problems. When my laptop was experiencing random shutdowns the guys at the mac repair shop were always telling me that there were more than 3000 MacBooks with this problem in Europe, and this was just one of the problems, there were more related to overheating or charging the battery. Even now, after the second repair (which took 45 days) I still have a sleeping problem (me too, i’m a well known insomniac, but also my MacBook): when I turn the lid off the laptop does not detect this and stays awake. This is minor so I preferred to use it like this until they receive the faulty component (that was 10 days ago and I wonder how long it will take until they will receive it, considering the huge amount of problems these devices had).

    On the other hand all complaints I ever heard about MacBook Pros were only minor. One related to a small whining sound, and the other related to overheating too, but they were both fixed a long time ago.

    When I bought my MacBook I did not buy AppleCare, which means that by the beginning of July, if it seriously breaks (and that seems quite likely, thinking that since I bought it it was more time broken than working) it’s value will quickly drop to zero. Now I can still get up to 1000 euros for it, since it’s working (almost) fine and the buyer won’t know about all problems it had in the past.

    On the other hand, what I heard is that new PhD students receive a new laptop. In the MPI it’s now a dull little dell with no other choice. However, from what I’ve heard in the CS department you may choose your manufacturer and exact model, and 2000 euros is not regarded as an expensive laptop. Meaning that if I wait a little I could get a MacBook Pro with Leopard for free, but this will also depend on the group I will join (not yet decided).

  3. hritcu says:

    I don’t really need any of the features of the Pro version

    Firewire 800 would be very nice though, since I plan to buy an external hard drive for backup and more storage.

  4. hritcu says:

    Now the MacBook also got upgraded. And even though the upgrade is a little less impressive than the one for the Pro line, it’s still nice. All MacBooks are now powered by an Intel Core Duo 2 processor, the middle-line model has 1GB of RAM, and these for the same price as before. What I hope is that this version can finally be considered final, because the MacBooks had so many problems compared to the Pro line.

Leave a Reply

